Alive & kicking!

8 Mar

HELLO to my dear readers!

If you are new to this site, welcome(:

It is 8 March 2017. I have to admit, I have not been updating this page for a year!! Well, I’m here now! Much has happened, both good and bad. Life in general has been fair I suppose.
Healthwise, I think I’ve sprained my right wrist slightly due to the nature of my work. I also just recovered from my first tonsilitis experience. Had such chilling high fevers and swollen tonsils till I had some trouble breathing. All is good now, thanks to anti-biotics. My overall health for the past year have been okay, nothing too dramatic as compared to my NMDA days. With regards to that, my follow up with my neurologist last year was very good and I’m glad I have come this far without trouble.(:

The power of social media (FB) has reminded me that exactly 4 years ago, I was discharged after recovering from my relapse. Time passed by so quickly but the memories are still etched to my heart. I remember being so excited and inspired to start my own book abt my entire experience etc. I eventually started this blog. And I am happy and proud to say that through this blog, people have approached me for help. I recently received a message from someone whose brother wasn’t responding to the treatment given and was hoping that I could help. And I did! Throughout these years of post recovery have been great actually. I managed to help others out even though I did not meet them personally.  I was told my posts inspired them and maybe this is what partly made me want to update this site again!

Someday, there will always be someone who may stumble upon this site hoping to get answers to their burning questions. For those who have not read my previous posts, in a nut shell, I was diagnosed with a neurological condition called Anti- NMDA Receptor Encephalitis back in 2012. It is an inflammation of the brain or what my doc said “brain on fire”. It happens where the body attacks its own good cells and unfortunately some of those cells control the brain, thus a seizure or bizzare behaviour or even both could occur! All depends on the person’s body.

I suffered my first seizure in Nov 2011 but my condition was only recognised in 2012. So thankfully, my body responded to the treatment given. Despite having another relapse in 2013 and going through another round of tests and steriods etc, I have been medicine free since Dec 2015. (:

NMDA was founded only in 2007. There is still a lot of research to be done for NMDA. For example, what triggers the body to attack itself, still remains a question till today. Some say it is due to stress but has not been proven yet.

The latest news I read is that researchers have found an alternative for patients who did not respond to the usual treatment given. So, two thumbs up to the research team!!

Moving on..

Today is International Women’s Day! A day commerating all women’s struggles for women’s rights. Although it isn’t celebrated much here in Singapore, I’m sure it is in US, UK etc. Women are definitely viewed differently as compared to a decade ago and have come a long way especially in terms of climbing the corporate ladder. So many companies now have women who are their chairman/Director to lead them to the path of success.

I feel women have become so much more outspoken globally no matter what their position is in the company. Being more confident and bold is something I still have yet to learn to be especially at work. Work on my side is alright, minor changes have been implemented already and the more major ones in time to come. I hope to be mentally and physically prepared, to face whatever challenge that is thrown at me. Life is so unpredictable, it catches you when you least expect it! And even if I fail, I can tell myself that I tried and had not just given up even before I was faced with it.

I read an article about a lady who started out with only $2++ in her bank, landed herself a million dollar contract and worked herself all the way to the top. She commented”failure isn’t an option, fear is.” which made total sense don’t you think!?

So cheers to the successful women of today and to the rest of us who are struggling but will always find a way. There is always light at the end of the tunnel if you believe! (:

Thanks for your time dear readers.

Till my next post (hopefully not a year later!),
Love, D

 

Leave a comment