An unforeseen event

22 Oct

Just when you think things are going well for you and you’re contented with what you have, an unforseen event happens to you. This event creates several drastic changes to your life which you have to slowly but surely accept it. Not only does it affect mostly your life but the lives of people around you, the people who care and love you.

Yes, an unforseen event occured to me on 28 Nov 2011. It was a seizure attack I suffered in school while taking a test.There were no symptoms whatsoever and it was my first seizure in my entire life of 22 years. According to my friend who sat beside me said that I slid off my chair and started shaking uncontrollably. My head turned towards the left side and my eyes rolled upwards. Someone stuffed a pencil case into my mouth to prevent myself from biting my tongue (the correct way is to actually allow the person having a fit to lean on one side), someone also called for an ambulance. I was unaware of what was going on. I could only recall myself on the stretcher being carried to the ambulance. I was admitted to National University Hospital at 7:28pm. Doctors first linked it to a stroke but then thought it was normal fits and since I had no history of fits, I was discharged the next day, 29 Nov 2011. 

After that event, life continued as per normal. Christmas approached quickly and I had a wonderful time with my family and friends. Just 5 days later, I suffered my second seizure on 30 Dec 2011, about a month after my first seizure attack. This time it happened when I was at home having breakfast. Thankfully my sister was awake studying and heard some murring. To her horror, she found me on the floor, my head turned left as well as the uprolling of eyes. I bit my gums too. This seizure lasted 2 mins. My sister and maid carried me to bed. Just half an hour later, I had my third seizure, my head turned left again, I salivated and this seizure lasted 1.5 mins. The next thing I knew, I was in the ambulance, once again.

I was admitted to Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH) at 1:49pm. Just as the doctors were examining me, I had my fourth and fifth seizure right in front of the doctors and my family’s eyes! It lasted for a minute. It must have been quite scary to have seen me in that state. I was then sent to the High Dependency ward for 3 days, under close observation by the nurses. On 6 Jan 2012, doctors noted my temporary impaired speech. I replied ‘pineapple tarts’ when doctors asked me where my parents were. I said I had a brother (I only have a younger sister) and called my best friend J.Y (her actual name is J.G). On 7 Jan 2012, the doctors did a spinal fluid extraction (as spinal fluid is connected to the brain) to detect any viral infections, I was suspected of having Tuberculosis. It was 11 Jan 2012 and the doctors were still unsure of my condition so my parents decided to transfer to me Gleneagles Hospital for a second opinion. My blood sample was taken and sent to Oxford University, UK via TTSH for further analysis and diagnosis. Doctors requested for priority processing. I lost my motor skills, unable to talk, was child-like, couldn’t feed myself or even handle my utensils.

Doctors felt my condition improved based on some blood tests I took and was decided that I be discharged. I came home on 16 Jan 2012. My best friend visited me but sadly I couldn’t recognise her and insisted to watch tv, not much interaction was made. On 20 Jan 2012, my mum brought me out for lunch at Junction 8 then I froze for 10 mins outside the Popular bookstore, I couldn’t walk, my left hand shook quite violently and body stiffened as well. Back at home, I laughed loudly during and after my bath, this lasted a few mins. My mum noticed when I’m at ‘frozen’ state, rashes seem to appear on my chest and face and would disappear when I’m back to my normal state. I did not sleep well that night, my dad caught me sitting up in bed and gazing out the window staring at nothingness. I wanted to open the front door, then froze which lasted 10-15mins. It was after 11pm and I was feeling restless with a slight fever.

That very same night, my body felt very warm and started trembling slightly. At 2am, I had multiple seizures (5 in total) lasted about 2-3mins each. I also ran a fever simultaneously and had slight bleeding in the mouth. I found myself back in TTSH at 3am, Ward 10A, bed 10. Dad saw the fear and anxiety in my eyes when he called out to me, he then knew that I couldn’t recognise him. I was immediately given steriod treatment for 6 days to help me in my speech, writing and motor skills. I lost control of my bladder, therefore I had to be on diapers. From 27-31 Jan 2012, I was given Antibody Intravenous Immunoglobulin (IVIG) which supplied antibodies into my body. 

My parents were also informed by my doctors that they had confirmed my medical condition to be: auto immune encephalitis, to be more specific: Anti-NMDA receptor encephalitis

Now you readers know why I want to raise awareness on this condition (refer to previous entry: purpose) because this condition is fairly new and it has happened to me and I’m absolutely thankful that my case is considered a mild one. My doctor told me there are girls younger than me who have been hospitalised for 2-3 mths, under intensive care. Currently, there is no support group for patients with this condition in Singapore. Therefore, if you had similar experiences as I have or know of someone who has this condition, it’d be nice if you left a comment. (: 

Stay tuned to my next entry: my recovery from Feb 2012 onwards

Love, D

One Response to “An unforeseen event”

  1. lizmollyoldershaw July 23, 2014 at 1:45 am #

    So lovely to read that there is someone else out there just as passionate about spreading awareness! I too was taken ill in 2011 and spent 14 weeks in a coma but now too try to raise awareness with my blog, which has lead on to me writing a column! It would be great to link all the NMDA blogs together somehow? X

Leave a comment