Recovery, a miracle

1 Nov

Contiuning from my previous entry..the steriods and antibodies that were given to me definitely showed results! Initially, I was supposed to be discharged in time for Chinese New Year but I had a urinary tract infection which caused me to have a fever. But after that was over, from 3 Feb 2012 onwards, I was functioning normally!! I got back my speech and was able to walk again with the help of my speech therapist and physio therapist. I still keep the practice sheet from my speech therapy sessions. It  helped me with sentence construction, word recognition and pronounciation.

I remember feeling really upset with myself as I had trouble walking, I remember the numbness in my toes, feet. At some point throughout my entire stay at the hospital, I imagined myself in a wheelchair. Thankfully for those physiotherapy sessions, I improved in my mobility once again. Anyway, I was recovering really well. I was off the disgusting diapers, I was able to feed myself as well as handle my own utensils. My swallowing improved and my diet changed from soft to hard. Every morning, the team of doctors would come round asking me for my full name, where was I, what day and date it was. I remember always waking up at about 8am as breakfast was served at that time then I would watch the Ellen show (love her by the way!) I would watch her show at 9 am and 4 pm daily without fail. Even if I was taking a nap in the afternoon, I would somehow wake up in time to watch her show, haha. Besides watching Ellen, I would read and do word search. Sometimes if one of my parents were around, we’d do it together. They each took turns to visit me during their lunch breaks or they would come together. There were times where they brought me downstairs to have a meal at the foodcourt downstairs and to also get some fresh air. I always felt so ‘locked’ up in my ward. So getting out of the ward for me was definitely a change of environment. Despite those stares I got, probably because I was in a wheelchair, I really enjoyed those times outside the ward even though it was for a short time. I also remember spending time at Starbucks with my BFF. She too tried to visit me everyday after her work.  She even painted my nails and bought a bottle of moisturiser for me as the air condition left my skin really dry. My sister too visited me whenever she could while struggling to meet deadlines for her poly projects.

After a month and a half, my doctors finally gave me the green light to be discharged on 8 Feb 2012. My parents including myself of course were so relieved to have heard that great piece of news. I remember my last meal – fish and chips(: A nurse gave me some medicine which made me real lethargic and drowsy. It made me so drowsy that I immediately slept right after that. I found out that medicine was to treat my hallucinations which I shan’t type out because some are quite embarrasing, although one of them included death (morbid I know). Anyway, while still feeling half drowsy, it was time to be finally discharged and head for home sweet home.

It has been almost a year since my first seizure attack, how time flies huh! I can safely say I’m fully recovered although still under medication for my seizures. I’ve read of other patients who have had relapses before and am obviously afraid it’ll happen to me but I will continue to stay positive and pray with all my heart. Prayers definitely help. My parents told me many people, people whom I didn’t even know, have prayed and are still praying for me. My mum and aunts met up every Saturday morning to pray for me at Novena church for my recovery. So it’s special thanks to all those who prayed for me, as well as for all the people who visited me whilst my stay, I’m deeply touched and blessed to have such wonderful people around. God bless them and their families(:

Life after my hospitalisation stay has definitely changed my life physically, mentally and emotionally. I think the very first thing that came to my mind was that I couldn’t graduate next year as I was absent from school for about 4 months. The job market isn’t doing very well now and I guess not graduating this year is somehow a blessing in disguise? I don’t know, there are good and bad points. Nonetheless, I thank God everyday for the constant support and love from my family and friends. Although there are times when things I come across or see such as  an ambulance, or read about illnesses, it just brings back all the memories. I know I have to move on in life but I think this will stay with me forever, I know I’m not alone, I just gotta stay super positive and strong.

Love, D

Leave a comment